Booking Through Thursday

You should have seen this one coming … Who is your favorite Male lead character? And why?

I have quite a few of these as well. The first one who springs to mind is of course Vlad Taltos from Brust’s Vlad Taltos-series (although my very favorite character from that series is Morrolan). I like especially his humor and banter with his familiar Loiosh. I also like Sir Lancelot from most of the retellings when he is polite, decent, and chivalrious. I especially liked him in the Once and Future King and in Rosalind Miles’ Arthurian trilogy which was quite medicore in other ways. I also tend to like the more boisterous Sir Gawain.

From the sci-fi side there are Luke Skywalker and Han Solo. Yup, I like both of them. Luke for being a modern knight, a serious young guy with a huge destiny and Han for being the rougish, fun type. From the Star Trek side I’ve always like Data; he has clear advangates for not being human and yet he wants to become more emotionally human.

I also rather like Sherlock Holmes because he’s a complex character. And Adrian Monk from the tv-series and books is another, more hilarous, detective.

And of course all of the four musketeer from Dumas’ the Three Musketeers. They all have their own quirks and appeals but they work best as a group.

From comic books there’s Prince Valiant from his own comic. I like very much both his character and his relationship with his wife Aleta.

In Elfquest there’s Cutter the brave leader of the Wolfriders who would do anything to protect his tribe and family.