Top 5 Wednesday is GoodReads group where people discuss different bookish topic each week. This week, the Top 5 Wednesdays topic is Favorite Mash-ups.

— You know those comp titles they list in synopses that read something like “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones”! What would be some of your favorite mash ups, that would make you pick up a book? “A mix of ________ and ___________.” Remember, you can also incorporate games, tv, movies, etc. Get creative!

At first, I wasn’t sure if I was going to come up with anything but after seeing what some of the others have come up with I realized that there are quite a few mash-ups I’d like to see more of:

1, Ocean’s 11 and fantasy
I just love heist stories and there aren’t enough of them in fantasy and sci-fi. A group of (semi)pro criminals band together for a (big league) heist.
So far, I’m only aware of Patrick Weekes’ Rogues of the Republic series. Anything else? Please!

2, Ocean’s 11 and science fiction
Now these are far more common. But I still think they’re more common in TV than in books. I adore Firefly and Farscape. Even Star Trek the Next Generation has a heist double-episode (Gambit 1 and 2). So, where are the books???

I’m, of course, extremely excited that Titan Books will be publishing Firefly books! First will be out in October!

3, Steampunk and Ancient Rome
The steam engine was apparently invented in the 1st century in Roman controlled Egypt. So, how about an alternate reality book (series?? Pleeeeeease!) where Heron’s invention spreads (instead of being squashed because apparently then there wouldn’t be enough work for the slaves which would lead to a rebellion. Bah.) and we get to see steam powered Roman airships.

4, Urban fantasy and ancient Rome/Greek/Egypt/China/India
A grumpy/sarcastic person investigates strange happenings in downtown Alexandria. A female main character would have to be filthy rich / extremely well-connected / really clever but that would just be gravy and perhaps add some comedy.

5, Cozy mystery and secondary world fantasy
Urban fantasy is already well-established and they often have mysteries for the main characters to solve. But they tend to be focused on fighting so every now and then I’d like to read an Agatha Christie style mystery in a fantasy world. You know, a polite human detective that interviews the dwarf and the elf and the dragon in human form to find out just who poisoned the centaur.

I know of Randall Garrett’s Lord Darcy books but are there others?