Top 5 Wednesday is GoodReads group where people discuss different bookish topic each week. Today the topic is: series that got better

I read a lot of series. I love to immerse myself in a world and characters. Thankfully quite a few of the series I’ve read in recent years either start good and continue to be good, or even get better so it was actually hard to choose just five.

1, October Daye series by Seanan McGuire
I didn’t actually fall in love with this series until the third book “An Artificial Night”. The two first ones “Rosemary and Rue” and “A Local Habitation” were interesting enough to keep me reading, though, and pretty soon the characters and the world really grew on me. Toby is a half-human, half-faerie woman. She’s a knight in the faery world and a private detective in San Francisco.

2, Vorkosigan series by Lois McMaster Bujold
The first couple of books is the Vorkosigan saga: “Shards of Honor”, “Warrior’s Apprentice”, and “Falling Free” are the first books Bujold wrote. Naturally, she got better. Great, character centric science fiction.

3, Vlad Taltos series by Steven Brust
I actually really enjoyed the first book, “Jhereg”, where we met the sarcastic human assassin/sorcerer Vlad Taltos and his equally sarcastic familiar Loiosh. They live in a world dominated by Dragaerans, or elves. But the series grows more complex with every book and Brust also experiments with structures.

4, Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters
Amelia and her husband are a family of intrepid archeologists and amateur detectives. They are very humorous historical mysteries. The first two books “Crocodile on the Sandbank” and “the Curse of the Pharaoh” aren’t nearly as good as the rest.

5, Discworld by Terry Pratchett
I personally don’t really care for the first Discworld books “Color of Magic and “the Light Fantastic”. Luckily, I started with the witches book “Wyrd Sisters” which is the 6th book in the series and centers on the wonderful three witches, Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg, and Magrat Garlick. The Discworld books can be read in any order.