Is it April already? Well, Hugo eligibility reading is over and I’m waiting to see which works will make it to the lists. I ended up reading quite a lot of comics in March and even reviewed some of them. Mockingbird vol. 1 was my favorite comic this month.

1, Mockingbird vol. 1: I can explain
2, Star Trek: Deep Space 9: The Maquis
3, Silk vol. 0: The Life and Times of Cindy Moon
4, Silk vol. 1: Sinister
5, Batman/Tarzan: Claws of the Cat-Woman

Challenges: Pick&Mix: 13 (out of 20), Graphic novels: 7 (out of 24)
So many of the comics could be put on the action heroine challenge, so I upgraded the challenge from 10 to 15 works. Currently I’ve read 8 books with an action heroine lead.

I also read and reviewed 5 books and a novella last month. I really liked all of them:

1, Yoon Ha Yee: Ninefox Gambit
2, Ada Palmer: Too Like the Lighting
3, Lois McMaster Bujold: Penric’s Mission
4, Elizabeth Bear: Karen Memory
5, Robert Jackson Bennett: City of Stairs
6, Jim C. Hines: Revisionary

Best of the month: It’s hard to choose a favorite. Revisionary is the last book in a series I’ve enjoyed a lot. Three books, from Yee, Palmer, and Bennett, are first books in their series. And Penric’s Mission is a lovely, wonderful Bujold fantasy story. Bear’s standalone Western steampunk book is also great. But I’m going with Penric’s Mission.

April: I’m currently reading Kerry Greenwood’s newest Phryne Fisher mystery. Well, actually it came out a few years ago and I didn’t realize until now. I’m also reading City of Blades, Bennett’s next book and then I’ll be reading the rest of the Leigh Brackett books I have.