I’m still knee-deep in snow here in Finland but it’s already time for Once Upon a Time X. Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting the event:

Monday, March 21st (my wife Mary’s birthday) marks the official start date of the tenth annual Once Upon a Time Challenge. This is a reading and viewing and gaming event that encompasses four broad categories: Fairy Tale, Folklore, Fantasy and Mythology, including the seemingly countless sub-genres and blending of genres that fall within this spectrum. The challenge continues through June 21st and allows for very minor (1 book only) participation as well as more immersion depending on your reading/viewing/gaming whims.

Don’t like the word “challenge”? We have something special just for you.

Come away, and I’ll tell you more…

“I felt a curious thrill, as if something had stirred in me, half wakened from sleep. There was something very remote and strange and beautiful behind those words, if I could grasp it, far beyond ancient English.”

~J.R.R. Tolkien, on reading the Cynewulf lines about the star Earendel

Now, for the particulars:

The Once Upon a Time X Challenge has a few rules:

Rule #1: Have fun.

Rule #2: HAVE FUN.

Rule #3: Don’t keep the fun to yourself, share it with us, please!

Rule #4: Do not be put off by the word “challenge”.

I’ve had lots of fun in the previous events and I’m joining this year, too.

The review site is here.

Read at least 5 books that fit somewhere within the Once Upon a Time categories. They might all be fantasy, or folklore, or fairy tales, or mythology… or your five books might be a combination from the four genres.

I still have lots of fantasy in my shelves and I’m determined to read as much of them as I have the time. So five books should be easy. 🙂

My TBR includes:
Aliette de Bodard’s Aztec inspired fantasy, Anne Lyle’s Elizabethian alternate history/fantasy, The Drawing of the Dark by Timothy Powers, and Dawn’s Early Light by Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris, a steampunk book.

Of course, I’ll also read comics. Recently, I found out that the Finnish library system has some of the collected editions of Hal Foster’s Prince Valiant strips. I read them when I was growing up but not all of them were translated. Now, I’ll have the chance to revisit them and also read strips I haven’t read before.

Has anyone else read them?

Books read:
1, Anne Lyle: Merchant of Dreams (fantasy)
2, Anne Lyle: The Prince of Lies (fantasy)
3, Patricia C. Wrede: Snow White and Rose Red (fairy tale)
4, Prince Valiant vol. 1: 1937-1938 (historical fantasy)
5, Catherynne M. Valente: the Folded World
6, Jordanna Max Brodsky: The Immortals
7, Sebastien de Castell: Traitor’s Blade
8, Prince Valiant vol. 2: 1939-1940
9, Joanna M. Harris: The Gospel of Loki
10, Aliette de Bodard: Harbinger of the Storm
11, Aliette de Bodard: Master of the House of Darts
12, Fairy Tale Comics: Classic Tales Told by Extraordinary Cartoonists edited by Chris Duffy
13, Tim Powers: The Drawing of the Dark
14, Fritz Leiber: The Swords of Lankhmar
15, Laura Resnick: Maybe You’ve Heard of Me?
16, Leslie Anderson ed.: Steampunk Fairy Tales
17, Elizabeth Wayland Barber and Paul T. Barber: When they severed Earth from the sky: How the human mind shapes myth

