Today the topic of Top Ten Tuedays is All-Time Favorite Authors.

This was very, very hard. But here’s my list today:

1, Lois McMaster Bujold
She has great characters and excellent settings.

2, Steven Brust
I also love his characters and setting.

3, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
I’ve enjoyed every book I’ve read from her, so far.

4, C. J. Cherryh
Cherryh also writers in a variety genres. She’s not the easiest writer to read, though.

5, Seanan McGuire
I love her Toby McGuire books and I’m eagerly waiting for more.

6, Kerry Greenwood
Her mystery books are some of my favorites because of the characters.

7, Elizabeth Peters
I love Amelia Peabody but I haven’t read much of Peters’ other books.

8, Terry Pratchett
Who doesn’t love him?

9, Naomi Novik
I love alternate history and alternate dimensions.

10, Elizabeth Bear
She also writes in a variety of genres. I particularly love her Edda of Burdens series and the Promethean Age books.

Special mention to Edgar Rice Burroughs, Roger Zelazny, Robin McKinley, Patricia McKillip, Anne Logston…

This list reminds me that I’m badly behind on reading some of these authors. Mostly because I’m trying to lower my TBR pile before buying new books.

