It’s September, so Carl at the Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting the ninth R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril, or R.I.P. IX. I’ve had fun with the challenge in previous years so I’m joining this time, too.

I’m currently enjoying a sci-fi binge but I’m also a mystery/supernatural fan so I’m looking forward to enjoying some RIP books.

September 1st is right around the corner. It is time to begin.

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

That is what embodies the stories, written and visual, that we celebrate with the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril event.

As time has wound on I’ve honed this event down to two simple rules:

1. Have fun reading (and watching).
2. Share that fun with others.

As I do each and every year, there are multiple levels of participation (Perils) that allow you to be a part of R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril without adding the burden of another commitment to your already busy lives. There is even a one book only option for those who feel that this sort of reading is not their cup of tea (or who have too many other commitments) but want to participate all the same.

R.I.P. IX officially runs from September 1st through October 31st.

I’ll be joining

Peril the First:
Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (the very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be King or Conan Doyle, Penny or Poe, Chandler or Collins, Lovecraft or Leroux… or anyone in between.

TBR: The Lake of Dead Languages by Carol Goodman (mystery), Vampire Empire book 1: the Greyfriar by Clay and Susan Griffiths, some Elizabeth Peters’ books, and the Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving.

Happy reading, everyone!
Read:
1, Crime spells, edited by Martin H. Greenberg and Loren L. Coleman
2, Washington Irving: The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
3, Seanan McGuire: The Winter Long
4, Carol Goodman: The Lake of Dead Languages
5, Kristine Kathryn Rusch ed.: Fiction River special edition: Crime
6, Donna Leon: Death in a Strange Country
7, Agatha Christie: A Pocket Full of Rye
8, Peter O’Donnell: Modesty Blaise
9, Kerrie L. Hughes ed.: Fiction River: Hex in the City
10, Agatha Christie: The Body in the Library

