Today the topic of Top Ten Tuesdays is Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2014.

This turned to be quite difficult because I’ve read (and listened) only a few new to me authors this year. Choosing between authors whose style I greatly enjoy is pretty difficult. But here goes:

1, John Scalzi: Redshirts
Star Trek fanfiction! Well, sort of. Scalzi pokes fun about lots of things in TV space operas.

2, Edgar Rice Burroughs: A Princess of Mars
I’m rereading the Barsoom series this year. It’s still in my top 5 book series ever and starts very strong.

3, Lois McMaster Bujold: A Civil Campaign
One of my other top 5 series ever, part of the Miles Vorkosigan series. Civil Campaign isn’t the best in the series in my opinion but it’s still great.

4, Andy Weir: The Martian
This is a new to me author and I believe it’s his first book. In “the Martian” one man tries to survive on Mars, all by himself and only with equipment Nasa has left behind.

5, Donald Westlake: Hot Rock
Another new to me author. This is the first book in the Dortmunder series about funny heists.

6, Naomi Novik: Crucible of Gold
Another series I greatly enjoy. Dragons in Napoleonic wars!

7, Terry Pratchett: Night Watch
Third of my top 5 book series makes an appearance. Night Watch isn’t as ROFL funny as the many of the others in the Discworld series but it pokes fun at time travel, one of my favorite tropes in fantasy or SF.

8, Kris Nelscott: A Dangerous Road
Nelscott is a pseudonym for one of my favorite authors, Kristine Kathryn Rusch. This is a historical mystery book and starts the Smokey Dalton series.

9, C. J. Cherryh: The Cuckoo’s Egg
Not one of my favorite Cherryh books but still very entertaining story.

10, Peter Clines: Ex-Communication
Yet another favorite series, although not in top 5 (maybe top 15?). Zombies and superheroes.

