Booking Through Thursday

All other things (writing quality, story, etc), which would you rather read?
1. Something written by a man or a woman?
2. Something with a male or female protagonist?
3. Something funny or something tragic?
4. Something short or something long with many parts?
5. Something simple or something layered?

What hard questions! It’s also my experience that things aren’t usually “equal”. πŸ™‚
1, You’re making me choose between Lois McMaster Bujold and Steven Brust?? Or Neil Gaiman and Kerry Greenwood?? Well, I do tend to read more female authors these days than males.
2, Hmmm… Amelia Peabody or Commander Samuel Vimes?? I tend to read more books with female protagonists.
3, Reading something really heart-breaking is always hard but of course all interesting characters go through hard time. But I’ll choose funny.
4, I love series!
5, I’m sure some people “know” that I haven’t read a layered book in my life. πŸ˜‰ But I’ll choose layered.

