Today the topic of Top Ten Tuesdays is Top Ten Books I Read in 2013.

Happily, I had an excellent reading year and so it was hard to choose just ten out of the 88 I read and listened this year.

1, Lois McMaster Bujold: Barrayar
I didn’t do much rereading or relistening this year but Bujold is one of my favorite authors and Barrayar is one of my favorite books from her.

2, Jim C. Hines: Red Hood’s Revenge
I have trouble choosing between the four Princess books but in the end I chose the third one, which focuses on Talia’s, Sleeping Beauty’s, tragic past.

3, A. Lee Martinez: Emperor Mollusk versus the Sinister Brain
I thought this book was hysterically funny.

4, Martha Miller: the Retirement Plan
I bought this on recommendation by Audible and was very pleasantly surprised.

5, Kerry Greenwood: Murder in Montparnasse
I throughly enjoyed all of Greenwood’s mysteries and listened a lot of them this year.

6, Kristine Kathryn Rusch: Skirmishes
The newest book in the Diving universe.

7, K. A. Stewart: A Shot in the Dark
This was surprisingly intense blend of horror and urban fantasy.

8, Rowena Cory Daniells: King Breaker
This is the last book in a series which I greatly enjoyed.

9, Terry Pratchett: The Fifth Elephant
Duke Vimes as a diplomat!

10, Seanan McGuire: Chimes at Midnight
Another favorite author! Chimes at Midnight isn’t quite as gut wrenching as the two previous books but I don’t think it could have been.

