Today the topic of Top Ten Tuesdays is Top Ten New To Me Authors in 2013.

When I look at the list of new-to-me authors I’ve read this year (easy, because I participated in the New Authors challenge https://mervih.wordpress.com/2012/11/22/new-authors-challenge-2013/) three writers stand out:
1, Jim C. Hines
I read Hines’ blog so he’s not totally unknown to me but this year I noticed his Princess series in Audible. I listened the first book (”The Stepsister Scheme”), loved it, and bought the rest as audio books as well. I enjoyed the whole series a lot and most likely I’ll read his new series next year.

2, Lee A. Martinez
I really enjoyed his super villain/space opera farce ”Emperor Mollusk versus the Sinister Brain”. I’ve listened to two others of his books. They’ve been good but not as hilarious as Mollusk.

3, Martha Miller
”The Retirement Plan” had a very interesting premise: two old ladies are having trouble making ends meet with their small pensions… so they start to kill people for money. It was great and I plan to read more from her next year.

Luckily I found other authors, too, whom I’m likely to continue to read:

4, Steven Harper
”The Doomsday Vault” is the first book in a steampunk series but he’s written quite a lot of other stuff, too.

5, Patrick Weeks
I throughly enjoyed ”The Palace Job” and I hope he’ll continue to write more.

6, Aliette de Bodard
”Servant of the Underworld” starts an Aztec trilogy and I’m likely to get the omnibus edition next year.

7, Donna Leon
Her first mystery set in Venice was intriguing.

8, Michael J. Martinez
I was wholly unprepared for how much I would enjoyed ”The Daedalus Incident”.

9, Phil and Kaja Foglio
I’ve been reading the Girl Genius for years but in comic book form. However, ”Agatha H and the Airship City” was the first book I’ve read from them.

10, Yvonne Navarro
I read from her a Buffy book and I think she did a great job of portraying the familiar characters.

