Carl who has the blog Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting the 2014 Science Fiction Experience! I’ve enjoyed the Experience a lot in the past so of course I’m joining this year, too.


Seven years ago this excitement lead me to invite other readers to spend time together to:

a) Continue their love affair with science fiction
b) Return to science fiction after an absence, or
c) Experience for the first time just how exhilarating science fiction can be.

Thus The Sci-Fi Experience was born, and now it is time to do it again.

Traditionally this experience has begun on January 1st and continued through the end of February. Every year I find myself with an overwhelming desire to focus my reading and viewing to the science fiction genre as soon as the weather turns cold and because of this I end up partaking of a lot of science fiction before the experience ever officially begins.

And so this year I am making a change. We will celebrate the joys of Science Fiction to end 2013 and begin 2014 by officially beginning The 2014 Sci-Fi Experience on December 1st, 2013 and it will go through January 31st, 2014. As we have done the past few years, we will be coupling the Experience with Andrea’s Vintage Science Fiction Month which runs through the month of January 2014.

I might join the Vintage Science Fiction month, too, depending on how much time I have in January.

I took a cursory glance at my shelves and realized that I have at least 20 unread SF books so my TBR pile in looming large. I will read at least the following:

The last two books in Kage Baker’s Company series.
Some Elizabeth Bear and
Alfred Bester’s Stars my Destination.
I’ll also review a couple of Battlestar Galactica comics.

Most likely I’ll want to read also Cherie Priest and C. J. Cherryh.

Reviews:
1, Battlestar Galactica: Season Zero Omnibus
2, Kage Baker: The Machine’s Child
3, J. G. Ballard: The Drowned World
4, Kage Baker: The Sons of Heaven
5, Battlestar Galactica: Cylon War Omnibus
6, Alfred Bester: The Stars My Destination
7, Battlestar Galactica Complete Omnibus vol. 1
8, Ursula LeGuin: The Planet of Exile
9, C. S. Friedman: Black Sun Rising
10, Orphan Black: season 1
11, Stargate Universe: season 1
12, John Scalzi: The Android’s Dream

