Booking Through Thursday

My best friend is moving across country, heading back to the East Coast for the first time after years of living in California, and one of the things she’s lamented was the whole packing-the-books thing. Having moved a few years ago myself (whittling down my 3000-volume library to 2000-volumes and still ending up with something like 50 boxes of books), I sympathize.

So … the question is–what kind of moving experiences have you had with your books? (Or, just in general if you’ve got good Moving Day stories–and who doesn’t?) Did having to pack and move your books cause any changes in your book-collecting habits? Make you wish you had everything on an e-reader? Feel free to discuss! (grin)

I really dislike moving. I don’t have quite as many books as in the example, but I do have several hundred. I also have a lot of comic book albums and single issue comics so packing and unpacking those can take a lot of time. Last time when I moved, last year, I gave away some books to the library and through BookMooch but there were still a lot of them.

During the move, I made a decision to radically cut back on buying print books and I’ve mostly kept it. I prefer to buy ebooks and downloadable audiobooks. However, I have so many unread books that I’m concentrating on reading mostly them. I don’t have an ereader; I read ebooks from my laptop.

Also, before the move I gave away most of my old VHS cassettes and that was a relief. I had boxes and boxes of them but now I have most of the TV series and movies on DVDs which take far less space.

