Booking Through Thursday

Movies have a rating system to help guide the consumer weed out adult/violent/inappropriate knds of films. Video games do, too. Do you think BOOKS should have a ratings system?

It depends. It depends on who decides what goes into what categories, what the categories are etc. I don’t think putting age categories would be a good idea because kids are different and read at different levels. I think libraries already have to restrict the books kids can borrow and that’s enough.

However, I wouldn’t mind it if the publishers would put icons for things like violence, sex, cursing, horror, etc. That would give some idea of what to expect in a book. In fact, I have vague memories that some UK (fantasy?) publishers have already done that.

But it depends on who gets to decide what types of scenes would get a warning and which wouldn’t. I doubt people could agree on them.

