Today the topic of Top Ten Tuesdays is Top Ten New To Me Authors.

So far I’ve read 29 new authors this year. Most of them were ok but sadly none of them jumped into my all time best authors list. These were the best:

1,Teresa Frohock
I was very impressed with Frohock’s intense first book, the Miserere. The book is set in an alternative Earth with working magic.

2, Carolyn Crane
Crane created a very original urban fantasy setting and I read the whole trilogy this year.

3, Jackie Kessler and Caitlin Kittredge
They created a great superhero setting.

4, Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris
The Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences series is fun! I had some problems with the first book but it’s still a good steampunk book.

5, K. A. Stewart
Another new urban fantasy writer who writes about a modern day samurai.

6, Tanya Huff
Huff writes in both fantasy and sf.

