Booking Through Thursday

My apologies for the lack of a question last week–blame Hurricane Sandy and the 5-day power outage that kept me from getting online.

But it leads to today’s question:

1. How do storms affect your reading? Do you go for comfort reading?

2. How do you deal with power outages? Do you read by candlelight? Flashlights? Use a self-lit e-reader or tablet? Skip reading altogether for the duration and instead play games with the family?

1, They don’t.

2, Power outages are pretty rare here and usually last less than an hour so I don’t have any routine. I live on the outskirts of one of the largest cities in Finland.

However, during Christmas last year, I was visiting my parents and we had a power outage which lasted about a day. I played games with my brother and talked with my parents. When they went to sleep (I’m a night owl), I took a couple of candles and read in the sauna, the warmest place in the house. By midday, the power had returned.

