Booking Through Thursday

The flip side of last week’s …

Are there any good books that you read IN SPITE OF the cover and ended up wondering what on earth the artist and publisher were thinking to pair up a cover that so badly represented a perfectly good book?

And … if you didn’t like the cover, what made you pick up the book? The author? Assigned reading from school? A recommendation from a friend?

Yes. I read a lot of science fiction and fantasy and they are known for their cheesy or right down terrible covers.

Urban fantasy is especially bad about this. I didn’t pick up Kim Harrison’s Dead Witch Walking until I’ve read a lot of favorable mentions about it and it appeared on a lot of “Best of UF lists”. Other UF tend to be as bad with a half-naked women in the covers promising the reader “action”. And I don’t mean fighting or adventuring. However, some of these books don’t even have sex scenes. Talk about false advertising.

On the science fiction side, Lois McMaster Bujold has suffered from inordinate number of book covers ranging form bad to horrible. However, her first omnibus, Cordelia’s Honor, didn’t have a bad cover, just a bit odd and it was strongly recommended. I’m really glad I read it because she’s been one of my favorite authors for years.


