Booking Through Thursday

Do you bring the book(s) you’re reading with you when you go out? How?
Physically, or in an e-reader of some kind? Have your habits in this
regard changed? (I know I carried books with me more when I was in
school than I do now–I can’t read while I’m driving to work, after
all.)

Yes, I almost always carry a book with me. I don’t have an e-reader. Usually, I have a backbag with me and when I don’t have a bag, I carry the book in my jacket’s large pockets. (Happily, both my leather jacket and winter coat have large pockets.) Also, I don’t like to take hardbacks or books over 400 pages with me, so I tend to take a small book even if I’m currently reading a larger book. I also don’t have a car so bus rides are good time for reading when I can get a seat. Standing and reading in a crowded bus doesn’t really work.

About a year ago, I lived in the middle of the city and was able to walk to pretty much everywhere. Back then, I didn’t carry a book with me unless I was going to wait on line or otherwise be somewhere I could read. Now, when I have to take the bus to almost everywhere, I also carry a book.

