Carl at the Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting the seventh R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril, or R.I.P.

The purpose of R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril VII is to enjoy books and movies/television that could be classified (by you) as:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.
Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

R.I.P. VII officially runs from September 1st through October 31st.

I don’t really care for horror, so I’ll be reading mystery and thriller books and perhaps dark fantasy.

Carl has several different perils. I’ll join

Peril the First:

Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (the very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be King or Conan Doyle, Penny or Poe, Chandler or Collins, Lovecraft or Leroux…or anyone in between.

I’ve got loads of mysteries on my to-be-read pile and some Dark fantasy and thrillers, too.

Peril on the Screen:

This is for those of us that like to watch suitably scary, eerie, mysterious gothic fare during this time of year. It may be something on the small screen or large. It might be a television show, like Dark Shadows or Midsomer Murders, or your favorite film. If you are so inclined, please post links to any R.I.P.-related viewing you do on to the Review Site as well.

I’ve watched almost all of the X-Files for the past eight months and I’ve still got the last season to go. Also, I’ve just bought the first season of Sanctuary.

I’ll also join the group read of Neil Gaiman’s Graveyard book. I’ve fallen sadly behind on my Gaiman reads so this is a change to catch up a little.

Read:
1, Stacia Kane: Sacrificial Magic (dark fantasy)
2, Kerry Greenwood: Raisins and Almonds (mystery)
3, Locke & Key: Welcome to Lovecraft (horror)
4, Rowena Cory Daniells: Besieged (dark fantasy)
5, Jocelynn Drake: Pray for Dawn (dark fantasy)
6, Josh Lanyon: Fatal Shadows (mystery)
7, R. C. Daniells: The Price of Fame (paranormal mystery)
8, Elizabeth Peters: Borrower of the Night (mystery)
9, Susan Wittig Albert: Thyme of Death
10, Neil Gaiman: The Graveyard Book

Watched:
Sanctuary Season 1

Reading pool:
Alexander Cipher by Will Adams
Tanya Huff: Blood Lines
Tanya Huff: Blood Pact
Carol Goodman: The Lake of Dead Languages
Tom McGregor: Death in the Wilderness
Robert Goddard: Past Caring
William Dietrich: Napoleon’s Pyramids
Steven Saylor: A Murder of the Appian Way
Kari Sperring: Living With Ghosts

