Booking Through Thursday

Do you find yourself thinking that the books you read would be good on film? Do you wish the things you watched on TV or in the movies were available as book?

Some really can’t be converted, of course, but some definitely can (and it’s not always the ones you think will work). There’s something to be said for different forms of media, but a good story is universal … or is it??

Sometimes, when a book is very visual, I think about it as a movie, but more like visualizing a certain scene rather than the whole book.

I read tie-in fiction such as Star Trek: TNG/DS9, Buffy, Terminator, and such, so I don’t have to just wish that they were books. However, I don’t usually care for a novelization of a movie or an episode. I much prefer an original story with the same characters. Yes, there are original books set in the Terminator universe, both with John and Sarah Connor, and with original characters.

I imagine a book which has a lot of internal monologue would be harder to turn into a movie, but I suppose it’s doable. For example, many of the urban fantasy books I’ve read are written in the first person and the humor in the book comes from the internal remarks. I guess turning them into a TV show might change the tone of the stories.

