Booking Through Thursday

Excellent questions!
Overall, what factor most influences your choice of your next read?

What I’m in the mood for and how much time I have to read.

The mood is often more generic, such as fantasy or science fiction but can be something like Star Trek or light and fluffy.

And if I have long workdays ahead, it’s no use picking a book with an intricate plot and a vast cast of characters whom I can’t remember anyway.
Also, reading challenges which I’m currently participating in.

What is it that makes you want to read a book by an author you have never read before?

A couple of several things at least: genre I’m interested in, lots of good word of mouth, interesting reviews, posts that mention that the author’s style is similar to one of my favorite writers, specific recommendations by people who know what I like. I’m also more likely to try a new authors based on flimsier recommendations if their book is in the library (or BookMooch) than if I have to buy it.

