Booking Through Thursday

If you had to choose to live within a novel, which would it be?

That’s a very interesting question. It depends on who I get to be. If I’m just me, rather than the protagonist, for example, I wouldn’t want to live in a fantasy novel. I’m rather atteched to idea of being able to own property rather than being property, and most fantasy novels aren’t kind to minor characters who aren’t male or nobility. I also like modern tech.

I think I would very enjoy very much living in Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan setting. Again, since I’m a woman and not nobility, Barrayar isn’t a good option, nor Cetaganda (although being a lazy and gorgeous Ghem woman might actually be a pretty good deal, as long as I’m not ambitious for, well, anything), for that matter. So, I’ll pick the book “Brothers in Arms” which is set on Earth.