Booking Through Thursday

What do you look for when reading a book blog? Does the blogger have to read the same genre? Do you like reviews? Personal posts? Memes? Giveaways? What attracts you to a book blog?

Interesting questions. I think the answer it mostly “I know it when I see it”. 🙂

I like to read reviews, memes, and some personal posts. Of course, people are cautious about posting personal stuff and they shouldn’t post anything they aren’t comfortable with. I love dogs so I like posts about them.

One of the essential things is that the blogger reads at least one genre I’m interested it. (Why would I read about books I’m not interested in?) However, most of the book bloggers I follow these days review books (increasingly?) about genres I’m not terribly interested in. I just visit them less often when that happens. For example, the Book Smugglers have a great, chatty, pop culture book blog which I adore. Increasingly, they’ve reviewed YA and I just skim those posts. Come to think of it, my favorite posts from the Smugglers aren’t reviews but other stuff such as the yearly review and airing of grievances, and when they talk about current events, such as the “relationship” between publishers and bloggers. I also enjoyed their posts about Lost.

So, what attracts me to a blog is: genres, chatty style, humor, pop culture old and current. I also loved a couple of Book clubs last year, the Women of science fiction and Women of fantasy, reading other readers thoughts about the same books. Unfortunately, the bloggers stopped posting. Creating good content and especially consistently is hard work for little or no reward. Thank you, all of you!

And–what are your favorite book blogs?
Book Smugglers, Book Chick City, Fantasy book Critic, Stainless Steel Droppings, ScifiGuy, Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations… check out the sidebar.

