A Few More Pages blog hosts the meme Book Beginnings:

How to participate: Share the first line (or two) of the book you are currently reading on your blog or in the comments. Include the title and the author so we know what you’re reading. Then, if you feel so moved, let us know what your first impressions were based on that first line, and let us know if you liked or did not like the sentence. The link-up will be at A Few More Pages every Friday and will be open for the entire week.

I’ve just finishing listening to Rachel Caine’s Chill Factor: “The sky overhead was blue. Clear, depthless, cloudless blue, the kind that stares back at you like Nietzsche’s abyss. Not a cloud in sight.

I hate clear skies. Clear skies make me nervous.”

Chill Factor is the third in the Weather Warden series and I was thrilled to find it on Audible. Clearly, I liked the previous books enough to get this third one. I like Joanne and the whole world building. So, Caine doesn’t have to sell this book to me right from the start.

However, I like the way usual descriptions are upside down in the fist paragraph: Clear skies are usually though to be soothing and pretty, not an abyss. This is very much in keeping with Jo’s contrary nature so I relaxed and enjoyed the ride.

The book actually starts with a “Previously” section which is less than a page and Jo’s chatty style can be seen there, too.

So, either opening works for me.

