Saturday, October 24th, 2009


Erika at Reading with Momma is asking
What book or books do you return to read again and again and why?

I admit that I not likely to reread about 90% of the books I read. However, I have some favorites:
Steven Burst’s Vlad Taltos series which begins with “Book of Jhereg” (fantasy) and Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan -series which starts with “Cordelia’s Honor” (SF).

Both have interesting characters and settings. They also have humor and there’s just something in the writing style that I click with. Of course, when I read a series the characters start to feel like old friends and it so it’s comfortable to return to their company (so to speak).

For some reason, I rather enjoy rewatching favorite TV shows and rereading favorite comics more than rereading books. Maybe it’s because shows and comics take less time than books? I don’t know.

Nymeth’s challenge is Time for Comics.

My mini-challenge is simple: what I suggest is that you take a break from your book and spend at least 10 minutes reading a webcomic.

I have a couple of favorite webcomics (the Order of the Stick which is a fantasy comic aimed at roleplayers and the steampunk adventure comic Girl Genius) but I’m woefully behind with them. So instead I read a new comic suggested in Nymeth’s post: No rest for the wicked.

It’s a fantasy tale with elements of quite a few fairy tales in it. The main character is the youngest princess who has an allergy to peas and hasn’t been able to sleep well no matter how many mattresses she has. It looks fun!

Page count: only about 60 pages of the Spirit Gate but I’ve also listened many hours of Willis’ book.

This challenge is: Collection Obsession

Most obsessive readers are also collectors. Besides books, what do YOU collect? Here is your task:

1. Take a break from your reading and wander around your house.

2. Take digital photos of your non-book collections (if you don’t have a digital camera, go to Google Images and find a representative image of your collection or collections).

3. Post your photos or images and tell us a little about your non-book collections (just a few sentences is fine).

4. Come back here and add your link to your post in Mr. Linky at the bottom of this post (please use a DIRECT/perma-link to your post and not just to your blog).

I don’t have a digital camera but I have a camera on my phone. I’m sorry that the pictures are quite dark but it’s 11 PM here. Anyway:

comics

I collect comics both individual issues and trades. Mostly superhero comics which can be soothingly black and white compared to real life.

Kuva0054

Various TV shows on DVDs. I tend to watch a whole series to the end.

dvd2

Some more of my favorite shows.

I could fill quite a few posts about Buffy alone: the dialog, characters, character interaction and growth…

Hello everyone!

I started lightly with the audiobook, Willis’ To Say Nothing of the Dog which is very funny. I almost want to know more about the Victorian times so that I can get more of the jokes.

Where are you reading from today?
Tampere, Finland where I live.

3 facts about me …
This is my first 24 h Read-a-thon.
English is technically my third language although I don’t really remember much about my second language which is Swedish.
I love ebooks and audiobooks.

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?
9 books and 7 comic book trades.

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?
Since this is my first time and I’m a slow reader, my goals are on the light side. Hopefully, I can read 100 pages of both the Spirit Gate and the Empress of Mars.

If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, Any advice for people doing this for the first time?
Not a veteran.