Carl at the Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting the eighth R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril, or R.I.P. VIII. I’ve joined in a couple of time and had great fun, so I’m joining this time, too.


Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.
Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above. That is what embodies the stories, written and visual, that we celebrate with the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril event.

As time has wound on I’ve honed this event down to two simple rules:

1. Have fun reading (and watching).
2. Share that fun with others.

As I do each and every year, there are multiple levels of participation (Perils) that allow you to be a part of R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril without adding the burden of another commitment to your already busy lives. There is even a one book only option for those who feel that this sort of reading is not their cup of tea (or who have many other commitments) but want to participate all the same.

R.I.P. VIII officially runs from September 1st through October 31st. But lets go ahead and break the rules. Lets start today!!!

I will be joining

Peril the First:

Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (the very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be King or Conan Doyle, Penny or Poe, Chandler or Collins, Lovecraft or Leroux…or anyone in between.

Reading pool:
I have quite a few mystery books in my TBR:
I have a lot of Kerry Greenwood’s books.
I realized that I own three Peter O’Donnell’s Modesty Blaise books and I don’t remember anything about them, so it’s definitely a time for a reread.
I also have some new to me authors:
Laurie King, Carol Goodman, Paul Christopher, Jeffrey Deaver, and Donna Leon

Read:
1, Christopher Golden: Spike & Dru: Pretty Maids all in a row
2, Kerry Greenwood: Earthly Delights
3, Kerry Greenwood: Dead Man’s Chest
4, Jefferey Deaver: The Bone Collector
5, Donna Leon: Death at La Fenice
6, Kerry Greenwood: Heavenly Pleasures
7, Elizabeth Kostova: The Historian

