Booking Through Thursday

What’s the last book that made you spring to your feet, eager to spread the word and tell everyone how much you enjoyed it?

The Planetary graphic novels by Warren Ellis and John Cassaday. There are four of them. I read the comic when it first came out in monthly issues, but I wasn’t able to get the whole run. Last month, I finally reread the series as a whole. I loved the series when I first read it and I got a whole new appreciation for it when I reread them quickly and in order.

Planetary is an organization dedicated to unearthing the secret history of Earth. It has parallel universes, secret histories, twisted versions of beloved super heroes, and mysteries. The central character, Elijah Snow, has gaps in his memory and recovering them is a big part of the mysteries. If you’re interested in any of the above, I think you’ll like Planetary.

