Booking Through Thursday

Do other people influence what you choose to read? When a family member recommends something, or a friend says they hated a book you were planning to read … does it affect your reading choices?

Yes, they do. These days it’s pretty rare for me to read a book from a new to me author without first reading reviews or recommendations, mostly online. I seem to have pretty strange tastes so I tend to find out first if the book is to my taste before buying it. For example, I’m not a romance reader so a romancer lover complaining about a lack of romance in a book is in fact a recommendation to me. Of course, if I can find the book in a library, I might try it even if it sounds that it’s not going to be the best book in the world.

But I have several hundred unread books already, so I’m currently trying to read them first before actively searching for new books.

